Archive for January 20, 2008

Resident Alien

For the past week or so, I’ve spent my non-sleeping time in bed with my hand pressed to my lower abdomen. Every now and again I would feel something strange, and think, that was it! That was a kick! But I wasn’t really sure. My intestines have been all rearranged, you know.

So last night, I was treated to a Rockette’s style floor show… and there is not a doubt in my mind that BabyK was the star. I think it even bounced my hand. It was so familiar and yet so strange – not in any rhythm I could anticipate, like a language I didn’t speak. All I could do was lay still and listen. Naturally, this morning when I tried to repeat this experience  for Mr. K in the vain hope that the bouncing hand effect was not something I imagined, BabyK decided that they were shy and wanted some sugar before entertaining us.   Which I somehow have still not gotten around to, yet.

So here I am –  possessed of  the knowledge that  1)  I am being inhabited by an alien. There is something inside me that is not me and will eventually leave me, although hopefully through the appropriate channels and not exploding out of my stomach (and you all know what I’m talking about) and 2) it’s real! It’s really real! It’s happening!

These thoughts are mercifully distracting me from my cold and my busted shoulder, both of which have made me a complete troll for the past few days. Hey, this is pregnancy, people. It’s not all pretty.  And if you see me in real life and want to touch the bump… I’d maybe wait a few weeks on that still, unless we’re really good friends. Most likely you’ll be loving on my intestines, and that’s just weird for everyone.

Comments (1) »